Four Years at Central Michigan University

I have learned a lot about myself over the last four years of college. Many situations have presented themselves in front of me and I’ve had to learn how to navigate them in all different ways all while having no clue what I am doing. The best thing I learned is the importance of being adaptable and how that skill could make or break an entire experience.

I came to Central and I expected to find a place to call home right from the get-go, although I made great friends and found aspects of school I enjoyed, I never found a real place I felt truly like myself. This was beyond discouraging and it took me a while to understand that this was a part of the process; I needed to be patient and adapt to the situation. I stayed optimistic and knew that I would find my place.

I found that place in Finch Fieldhouse as a Recreation Parks and Leisure services major and as a general member and board member of Central Harmony A Cappella. While being involved in these groups, I found myself refining a truly important skill; adaptability. I had to learn all facets of the event planning world as it is an industry that forces you to learn everything. In the same vein, being a member of the a cappella group taught me how to adapt to the learning styles of others and working with a team in a way I hadn’t done in a long long time.

Although these seem like minor examples, I was forced to change the way I thought in order to create something wonderful. I was shown that in order for one to be truly successful, mastery of adaptability was a key component. I feel like the curveballs I was thrown over the last four years have shown me that I can change the way I play the game while also still creating some of my best work.

I am beyond thankful for my time spent at Central Michigan University. The times I spent in Mount Pleasant are some of the best of my life and for as much as I struggled here at Central, in the end, I had a wonderful time. I look forward to using my knowledge gained at this university in the future as I continue forward to put my stamp on the world.

IMG_9175.JPG

Leave a comment